Home > News > Fiscal Space for Social Protection 08.09.2016

Latest News

Fiscal Space for Social Protection 08.09.2016

Socialprotection.org will be hosting a webinar Fiscal Space for Social Protection: Harmonization of contributory and non-contributory programmeson 8 September, at 2pm–3pm (London).  Stephen Kidd will also be on the panel.

The growing interest of practitioners combined with a context of global economic slowdown has resulted in the need for more evidence-based research and knowledge sharing opportunities in the area of financing social protection. The webinar is the second in the Fiscal Space for Social Protection: Knowledge Sharing Initiative Webinar Series, organised by the International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG) and HelpAge International, which aims to contribute towards fiscally sustainable social protection systems. It will cover the following topics: the coverage gap of old age social protection; contributory and non-contributory programmes (joining up schemes for system-wide effectiveness and sustainability) and extending social security to the informal economy.

Webinar Schedule and Panelists:

Key-speaker - Stephen Kidd (Senior Social Policy Specialist, Development Pathways)

Discussant - Rebecca Holmes (Acting Head of Programme, the Overseas Development Institute)

Q&A - Stephen Kidd and Rebecca Holmes

 

Register for the Webinar!

THURSDAY 8 SEPTEMBER 

9:00 - 10:00 (Washington DC, UTC -4)

10:00 - 11:00 Brasilia (UTC/GMT -03:00)

14:00 - 15:00 London (UTC/GMT +01:00)

16:00 - 17:00 Nairobi (UTC/GMT +03:00)

18:30 - 19:30 New Delhi (UTC/GMT +05:30)